The Sound Of Us by Julie Hammerle

27779285The Sound Of Us by Julie Hammerle

 

My review: When I started this book I only knew that it was Young Adult Contemporary novel about music with nice cover and many positive reviews on goodreads. But no one mentioned in synopsis that it was about opera music. Well, I hold nothing against opera music, but there were so many unnecessary details connected with it.

Moreover, to be honest I was reading “The Grapes Of Wrath” and took a small break to read “The Sound Of Us” just because my review deadline was coming (as I got this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review). And you know, in “The Grapes Of Wrath” the farmers are driven from their homestead and are forced to travel West to the promised land of California, and the drive to California is exhausting as they’ve got little food, old car and 15 people in the car which fits 6 people only. And in “The Sound Of Us” the girl was nervous about her quarrel with a friend, about the german song that she couldn’t sing accurately and things like that. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to compare these novels, I just want to explain you why I stopped reading “The Sound Of Us” in the middle of chapter 2. I just couldn’t understand the purpose of this book. Then I read these positive reviews on it  and learned that there was no actual purpose at all. It’s just a light read; you know there are times when you don’t want to pick serious books, you need something light and funny with some highschool drama. So, if you feel like it, I recommend you to pick this novel.

To put the plot summary short: It’s about the opera singer Kiki, who was sent to music camp during the summer; Kiki is fond of twittering and not so good with real conversations.

2 thoughts on “The Sound Of Us by Julie Hammerle

Leave a Reply

