The Grapes Of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Dear John Steinbeck, I wish you were alive so I could write you a letter or call you to tell how much  I loved your novel and thank you for all the inspiration.

I adore you!

 

 

I’ve finished reading “The Grapes Of Wrath” on the night of “Harry Potter And The Cursed Child”release, so it’s been like 4 days and I’m still overwhelmed with emotions. Usually I’m not a fan of open endings, but in the “The Grapes Of Wrath”it just felt good; I closed the book with a smile on my face and it was hard to fall asleep that night as MY THOUGHTS KEPT RACING. John Steinbeck managed to transmit all this terror and insanity of The Great Depression with the mere words and through the very same words he took you back in time to California and made you cry and smile and most of all – change with the heroes. Really, it was interesting to see how much Jouds changed throughout the novel if you compared the people they were in the beginning to the people they became in end. (let’s also note most of them changed in a good way, which proves that difficulties make us stronger, but of course it’s easy to say).

Moreover, while reading I highlighted many lines– some of them were thought provoking, another were reflections of my own thoughts and the rest were just beautifully BEAUTIFULLY written. I must add that “The Grapes Of Wrath” not only shows you the results of The Great Depression, it also explains the reasons and although it was written 77 years ago, it IS actual nowadays as it describes the events similar to current refugee crisis. I think it’s a must read for everyone.

Also, I’ve just read some “The Grapes Of Wrath” reviews on goodreads and people kept writing “this book is for people over 30/ only adults will like it”, I disagree – I’m 15 and I found this book GREAT – and I’m sure that “The Grapes Of Wrath” will be a good read at any age. Well, I understand, “The Grapes Of Wrath” is hard to read at times – for instance, I was reading it for a whole month as two chapters a day were more than enough for me – , John Steinbeck said  himself: “I’ve done my damndest to rip a reader’s nerves to rags, I don’t want him satisfied” , but after finishing “The Grapes Of Wrath”  you’ll just look at several things DIFFERENTLY and I think you can only refer to a book as GREAT if it has changed you and made you ask yourself questions you never asked before.

So please read it and let me know your thoughts then and if you’ve read it already I’d like to discuss it with you! By the way, my favorite “The Grapes Of Wrath” characters are Tom Joud, Ma Joud and of course Jim Casy!

Let me finish this review with my favorite “The Grapes Of Wrath” quotes:

“Maybe,’ I figgered, ‘maybe it’s all men an’ all women we love; maybe that’s the Holy Sperit-the human sperit-the whole shebang. Maybe all men got one big soul ever’body’s a part of.’ Now I sat there thinkin’ it, an’ all of a suddent-I knew it. I knew it so deep down that it was true, and I still know it.”

“Muscles aching to work, minds aching to create – this is man.”

“If he needs a million acres to make him feel rich, seems to me he needs it ’cause he feels awful poor inside hisself, and if he’s poor in hisself, there ain’t no million acres gonna make him feel rich, an’ maybe he’s disappointed that nothin’ he can do ‘ll make him feel rich.”  

“Anybody can break down. It takes a [real] man not to.”

 

 “Whenever they’s a fight so hungry people can eat, I’ll be there. Whenever they’s a cop beatin’ up a guy, I’ll be there . . . . I’ll be in the way guys yell when they’re mad an’-I’ll be in the way kids laugh when they’re hungry an’ they know supper’s ready. An’ when our folks eat the stuff they raise an’ live in the houses they build-why, I’ll be there.”

4 thoughts on “The Grapes Of Wrath by John Steinbeck

  1. gemsbooknook says:

    Really great review.. I loved grapes of wrath.. I also really loved east of Eden by John Steinbeck.. If you haven’t read it check it out.. Love hearing about what younger people think of these amazing novels.. You really see,ed to connect with the characters and the history of the book.. Iv read a lot of John Steinbeck’s work and a few of his letters and in my opinion I think he would be proud to know that his work was connecting to young readers..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

